In Settings, there is a Privacy tab. On the tab you will see several options you can select to set your profile to a privacy level that you are comfortable with. There is an option to “Allow people to follow you without request”. By selecting yes, anyone who clicks “Follow” on your profile will be able to follow you. If you select no, you will receive a notification when a user requests to follow you.